Welcome to the 14th International Turfgrass Research Conference

It is a great pleasure to announce the 14th International Turfgrass Research Conference 2021 (ITRC 2021) which will be arranged by STERF and held in Copenhagen, Denmark on 11-16 July 2021.

The conference theme is:

Development & Sustainability

The challenges for the future of the turfgrass sector are many and diverse. Climate change impacts are exceeding the worst expectations. Strong restrictions on the use of chemicals and fertilizers, and increasing pressure on natural resources (notably water, energy and land) are expected. There is an accelerating loss of ecosystem services and biodiversity in the urban landscapes. All this calls for more research and innovation for a sustainable future.  

The United Nations' Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) set out in Agenda 2030 will constitute the conference programme framework. We have identified seven SDGs related to the turfgrass industry: SDG 3 (Good health and well-being), SDG 11 (Sustainable cities and communities), SDG 12 (Responsible consumption and production), SDG 13 (Climate action), SDG 14 (Life below water), SDG 15 (Life on land) and SDG 17 (Partnership for the goals).

The conference is an arena established to exchange knowledge and experiences with the best experts in this field. It will bring together researchers, greenkeepers, superintendents, planning authorities, technical experts, consultants, high level turfgrass managers and top industry delegates. This will give us the best opportunities to improve and extend important international interdisciplinary collaboration, which is the only viable strategy to overcome the current challenges and create a sustainable future.

Please join us in 2021 for the latest cutting-edge research in the turfgrass industry and stay to enjoy all that Copenhagen area has to offer! 

For more information about STERF please visit www.sterf.org  
For more information about Copenhagen please visit www.visitcopenhagen.com 

On behalf of the Conference Planning Committee,

Maria Strandberg
ITS president, STERF Director 

Bruno Hedlund
STERF Chairman

Trygve Aamlid
Turfgrass Research group, NIBIO

Torben Kastrup Petersen
Danish Golf Union  

Jan Støvring
Copenhagen University

Anne-Mette Dahl Jensen
Turfgrass Scientist

Agnar Kvalbein 
Turfgrass Scientist 

Bruce Clarke
ITS Past President
Director, Center for Turfgrass Science, US

Conference dates

11-16 July 2021


University of Copenhagen

Legacy Premier Sponsor